From Politico Playbook this morning:

CHARLIE ROSE, to President Obama, in an interview aired on “CBS This Morning,” taped yesterday afternoon in the Blue Room: “Do you believe [Romney’s] presidency would be a disaster? Because this is a man who’s been a successful businessperson. Does that disqualify him … ?”

OBAMA: “Well, I do not think at all it disqualifies him. But I also think it’s important if that’s his main calling card, if his basic premise is that ‘I’m Mr. Fix-It on the economy, because I made a lot of money.'”

ROSE: “But that’s not what he’s saying.”

OBAMA: “Well, no, that is to some degree. What he says is he understands the economy and the private sector … I think it is entirely appropriate to look at that record and see whether, in fact, … his focus was creating jobs and he successfully did that. And when you look at the record, there are questions there that have to be asked. …

“[W]hen some people question why I would challenge his Bain record, the point I’ve made there in the past is if you’re a head of a large private equity firm or hedge fund, your job is to make money. It’s not to create jobs. It’s not even to create a successful business. It’s to make sure that you’re maximizing returns for your investor. Now that’s appropriate. That’s part of the American way. That’s part of the system. But that doesn’t necessarily make you qualified to think about the economy as a whole, because as president, my job is to think about the workers. My job is to think about communities, where jobs have been outsourced.”

