I’ve been working on a slew of short stories of late, so when I saw news of a competition involving that format, with a financial reward to boot, I checked into it and then moved on to comments on the post announcing the event.

Geez.

The word limit specified was 600 words. One of the first questions asked was whether a “90-page novel” would be acceptable. Several were along the lines of “I have no idea how to follow (your incredibly simple cut-n-paste) instructions to submit my story.” What finally blew my mind, though, was the “Is this fiction or non-fiction?” inquiry. As I was giggling, I scrolled down the the answer.

“It can be either one.”

I used to say that the reason it all fell apart was that the inmates were in charge. I’m coming to realize that we are all inmates now.

I really don’t drink nearly enough, no matter what anybody tells you.