I have bitched and moaned here more than a few times, and I now believe unfairly, about how my Comcast internet and cable go down at the very tiniest flicker in the power supply causing me at least some inconvenience and sometimes loss of work which has not yet been backed up. This happened again this week in an instance where there wasn’t even a flicker, just the sudden shutdown of the two systems.

And that’s when it hit me. The issue is not them (Comcast), it’s the surge protectors I’m using to keep this stuff from getting fried.

So now I’m looking into battery-backup surge protectors and looking for recommendations. I figure I need at least eight outlets to cover computer, modem, monitor, TV, cable box and sound system, one light source and whatever I’ve forgotten to include.

Advice, guidance, gentle treatment will be appreciated. Thanks.

